Get to Know Your Chakras (And Some New Chakra Jewellery)

Get to Know Your Chakras (And Some New Chakra Jewellery)

Your body and mind are two parts of a complex, wonderful whole. Balancing them and making sure that every part of your being is working smoothly and in harmony with the rest is vital to your ongoing health and happiness.

This is where your chakras come in. Now, you might be very experienced with balancing your chakras, or you might be new to the concept and dismiss it as being totally ‘woo-woo.’

Well, either way - keep an open mind and read on. You might learn something that could change your life.

What are the chakras?

Chakras are energy centres in your body. Each of the seven draw and emit energy, and each one plays a different role in the body and mind’s interactions, and how you interact with the world around you.

When your chakras are balanced, each energy centre is performing at the optimum output - but if one or more is underactive or overactive, you can run into health problems and have difficulty functioning in the world as you want to.

The Root Chakra:

Based at the bottom of your spine in the tailbone area, the root chakra is responsible for our sense of grounding and ability to be present.

If your root chakra is underactive, you will likely feel uncomfortable in your own skin and in social situations. If it’s overactive, you can become obsessed with controlling everything around you.

The Root Chakra is represented by a deep garnet color.

The Sacral Chakra:

Based in your lower abdomen, your Sacral Chakra is responsible for your ability to connect with others, with your sexuality and ability to experience joy and pleasure.

When the Sacral Chakra is underactive, you can seem emotionally unavailable and shut off. When it’s overactive, though, you can might be overly emotional or prone to being overtly sexual.

The Sacral Chakra is represented by a bright carnelian or orange color.

The Naval Chakra (also known as the Solar Plexus Chakra):

The Naval or Solar Plexus Chakra is located in your upper abdomen, near your stomach. This one is responsible for our sense of self-confidence, self-esteem, and ability to direct our lives as we want them to go.

When this chakra is underactive, you will be nervous, easily thrown into indecision and easily unsettled. It is this chakra that is affected when something happens that you perceive as ‘a kick in the guts’. When your Naval Chakra is overactive, though, you will likely be aggressive and overbearing.

The Naval Chakra is represented by vibrant, Tiger’s Eye yellow.


The Heart Chakra:

The Heart Chakra is responsible for our ability to love, and to show kindness and affection. It is located in the centre of your chest, just above your heart.

When your Heart Chakra is underactive, you will have trouble feeling and expressing love or affection, even to those closest to you.

If your Heart Chakra is overactive, your love can become overwhelming for the people receiving it, and may reflect your own need for love more than a pure desire to give love.

The Heart Chakra is represented by a rich Malachite green.

The Throat Chakra:

The Throat Chakra is responsible for our ability to communicate. When it is balanced you will be able to express yourself clearly and be honest in all situations. The Throat Chakra is located in your throat, near your voice box and vocal cords.

When the Throat Chakra is underactive, you are likely to be very quiet, and to avoid expressing yourself - you will become introverted and closed off.

When the Throat Chakra is overactive, though, you will be more like a motormouth! Talking too much and listening too little.

The Throat Chakra is represented by pure Sapphire blue.

The Third Eye Chakra:

The Third Eye Chakra is responsible for our ability to imagine and conceptualize the big picture. Also known as the Brow Chakra, the Third Eye Chakra is located in your forehead, between your eyes.

If your Third Eye Chakra is underactive, you might have trouble thinking outside the box, and will get stuck following the rules without thinking about them.

If your Third Eye Chakra is overactive, you can become too much of a dreamer, never focusing on the reality at hand.

The Third Eye Chakra is represented by mystical Amethyst purple.

The Crown Chakra:

The Crown Chakra is responsible for our spirituality and ability to connect with the Universe. It is located at the very top of your head - the crown.

If your Crown Chakra is underactive, you will likely struggle to develop a meaningful spiritual life, or may just not be aware of spirituality.

If it is overactive, you run the risk of overdoing it - favouring all things spiritual at the cost of your body’s needs and your involvement in the physical world.

So. Now you have a clear understanding of each Chakra, and what they’re responsible for.

If you’ve got an imbalance in your life -  an area where things are not going to plan, or where you’re dissatisfied, maybe you need to look at balancing the relevant Chakra.

To help you do that, we’ve created a beautiful line of Chakra Tassle Bracelets. Every Chakra now has its own balancing bracelet, to help you realign and free up any blocked up Chakras:



Get one or a combo to focus on unlocking a specific Chakra. Or if you want to ensure that all your Chakras are perfectly balanced and aligned for improved health and happiness, maybe the Chakra Om Wrap Bracelet would be the one for you:


To bring vibrancy and new energy to your Chakras, the Himalayan Seed Bracelets are a beautiful choice:


Or to simply remind yourself to pay attention to your Chakras and the balance in your life, the Tassle & Stone Charm Silk Bracelets combine the Chakra colors with precious stones:


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.